A sacred day 

I had the wonderful spontaneous privilege to visit, tour, and sit in silence at the Sacred Grove today. 
For those of you unfamiliar with this term “sacred grove” it is when a young humble 14 year old boy took his question of which church to join, to the Lord. Young Joseph Smith had heard preachers tell him to repent and be baptized. His own parents each belonged to separate faiths, and he wanted to know which to join. After reading and studying James 1:5 in the Bible, he came to the conclusion that if he wanted an answer, he first needed to Ask God. It is here that we refer to the first vision . A miraculous and incredible part of Mormon history, when God the Father and His Son Jesus Christ appeared to Joseph, calling him by name and told him to join none of the churches, but that he would be the means of restoring the Gosepl that Jesus Christ had once set on the earth. So this ordinary Grove of trees in his backyard became very special, even sacred.

It has been a dream of mine to visit the Sacred Grove. Not that I needed to be there to believe in this Gospel, or to even reaffirm my testimony. It is somewere I wanted to be because of the fact God and His Son were once there. I had hoped I’d feel them, and what I experienced was so much more. 

Nothing appeared out of the sky. I didn’t hear a voice. There was no bright light. I don’t say this in a mocking way either. I don’t need those things. There was complete and utter peace. Peace that was so tangible! As I sat in this part of the Grove made to look like an outdoor chapel, I cleared snow off of a pew and looked up to the dark blue sky. Suddenly the wind grew loud and fierce, and almost immediately after, everything went silent. The Heavens did not part, but I felt my Saviors love. I felt as He wrapped His arms around me and confirmed to me that I am needed, cherished, and loved.


I was overwhelmed with emotion as I sat and pondered the beautiful gifts my Heavenly Father has blessed me with. The chance to be there right then. The temple so that I may find peace and solace. My family and friends. The scriptures that are absolutely applicable if we look for the experiences similar to ours. The chance to be a full time missionary for Him. He has blessed me immensely, and the least I could do is learn of His Son, the Prophet Joseph Smith and every Prophet since, and let go of what I want, and become what He wants. 

There aren’t adequate words to describe the spirit felt today as I learned of my Savior and my purpose here. 

“…I had actually seen a light, and in the midst of that light I saw two Personages, and they did in reality speak to me; and though I was hated and persecuted for saying that I had seen a vision, yet it was true; and while they were persecuting me, reviling me, and speaking all manner of evil against me falsely for so saying, I was led to say in my heart: Why persecute me for telling the truth? I have actually seen a vision; and who am I that I can withstand God, or why does the world think to make me deny what I have actually seen? For I had seen a vision; I knew it, and I knew that God knew it, and I could not deny it, neither dared I do it; at least I knew that by so doing I would offend God, and come under condemnation.” -Joseph Smith


I often quoted that throughout my mission. I hadn’t seen a vision, but the knowledge, experiences and love of God that I had could not be denied. I knew it, and so did He. 

I know that Joseph Smith did indeed see God the Father and His Son. And they did in reality speak to Him. I know that through the power of God, Joseph was able to translate the ancient record to what we have and call now, The Book of Mormon. I have read it myself and know it is the word of God. And you can too. Like young Joseph Smith, if you want an answer, ask God. I know He will answer those with a humble and sincere heart! He has done so for me many times! 


If we are comparing, my experience in the grove today was nowhere near as miraculous as Joseph’s. But it wasn’t supposed to be. To me, it was just as miraculous, spiritual and incredible. I received an answer, comfort and love. And just like Joseph, I knew I would receive my answer.❤️I am grateful for a loving Heavenly Father who listens, loves and answers us.

Leave a comment