I don’t hate you, Mom

This thought kept coming to my mind. Does my mom know I don’t hate her? Daughters are moms biggest struggles. I was a sassy, stubborn, and persistent teen. I’ve graduated the teen years by just a little bit but I’m still stubborn, sassy, and persistent. Mom and I had lots of fights, and still do. I love her. But does she know that?

I don’t hate you mom for making me sit at the table until I ate my vegetables. 

Instead, I love you for teaching me to try new things (sometimes against my will!)

I don’t hate you mom for putting me in timeouts when I was a crap face.

Instead, I love you for teaching me to be a respectful person

I don’t hate you mom for making me play outside in the 120 degree heat.

Instead, I love you for making me use my imagination to create fun games and memories

I don’t hate you mom for moving me to Surprise

Instead, I love you for the wonderful growth opportunities and friends I was able to make

I don’t hate you for not letting me get my license when I was 16

Instead, I love you for teaching me that some things are privileges, not rights that I should expect 

I don’t hate you mom for not buying me a car

Instead, I love you for teaching me that hard work and dedication and get you anything in life 

I don’t hate you mom for giving me a lame curfew in high school

Instead, I love you for wanting me to be safe, even if that meant missing the ending to movies. 

I don’t hate you mom for making me go back to church

Instead, I love you for the chance I’ve had to come to personally know and love my Savior Jesus Christ

I don’t hate you mom for not letting me buy the skimpy outfits I wanted 

Instead, I love you for teaching me my body was important and was not meant for the world to see

I don’t hate you mom for making me get a job

Instead, I love you for showing me that I have talents and gifts to offer others (and that I can’t mooch off of you forever!)

I don’t hate you mom for not having everything ready for me when I came home from my mission

Instead, I love you for letting me use the talents and skills I had learned on my mission in normal life

I don’t hate you mom because you despise ABBA

Instead, I love it when you leave the house so I can jam out to it

I don’t hate you mom for being a single mom

Instead, I love for you for your strength and example. Your dedication, hardwork and love you had for your family. 

I don’t hate you mom because you don’t send money or run to help me every time I’m in a bind

Instead, I love you for allowing me to fail and fall sometimes

I don’t hate you mom. 

Instead, I love you. 

Hug your Mother extra tight this Mothers Day! ❤ And hug someone else’s Mom too! 

Leave a comment