Easter

“The grave hath no victory, and the sting of death is swallowed up in Christ.”

A powerful and beautiful scripture. It is one I have read at least a hundred times today as we celebrate the life of the Savior and His glorious resurrection.

But to all those who are grieving this Easter holiday, we know there IS a sting of death, and it hurts so much. I read someone’s post today that said they were so grateful for this scripture and how true it was that death has no sting…. Maybe I don’t understand it and I’m way off here but death has a sting. A sting that lasts forever! The pain may lessen over time but there is 100% a sting!

Some are blessed to not have death as a trial in their lives, and that is wonderful! Others aren’t so lucky. Another friend of mine posted today that her father unexpectedly passed away this morning. Broke. My. Heart. If I could take away her pain I would!

Every Easter I think of my Dad. Some Easter’s are much easier than others, but that’s how grief works. I’ve wept internally all day, wishing he could be here to celebrate today. Wishing I could crack a confetti egg on his head and take him to church with me. The grave may have no victory but I have felt the sting of death as every second passed by.

I quickly turned to Mosiah 16:8 in the Book of Mormon where this verse can be found. Death has a footnote that I have never noticed before. It said, “He will swallow up death in victory; and the Lord God will wipe away tears from off all faces…”

The spirit testified to me that its okay to grieve, to struggle with death, to feel that sting..Because what the verse is really saying is the grave is NOT the end, and death will be hard but the Lord will NOT leave you.

What I want cannot be done. I wish I had HP’s resurrection stone because I’d give up everything to have my Dad back! But the Lord has not left me in my trial. He has sent me people to lift me up, make me laugh, and hug me just because.

I woke up to a text so simple yet so full of love. “Thinking of you. Wish you were going with me today.”

The Lord may not be here to physically wipe my tears away, but this text and wonderful friend did. 💜

“And he shall go forth, suffering pains and afflictions and temptations of every kind; and this that the word might be fulfilled which saith he will take upon him the pains and the sicknesses of his people.

And he will take upon him death, that he may loose the bands of death which bind his people; and he will take upon him their infirmities, that his bowels may be filled with mercy, according to the flesh, that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities.”

Alma 7:11-12 💜

Leave a comment